Golden Daybreak (1978)

Cover of Golden Daybreak (1978)

Golden Daybreak (1978)

The first recording released by the band (then known as the National Capital Area Band), conducted by A. Campbell Robinson. LP only, recorded in 1978 at the Prince George’s Corps in Maryland. As has become a tradition with the band’s recordings, the album featured a number of previously unrecorded or under-recorded items. Seven of the ten items are by composers who were members of the band, and only four of the ten items had previously been published.

An interesting fact about this recording is that the company that pressed the discs applied the labels to the wrong sides, so that the side labeled Side One is actually Side Two.


1 Camp Ladore (Ivor Bosanko)   2:31
2 At the Foot of the Cross (Robert C. Schramm)   6:14
3 His Matchless Love (Robert C. Schramm)   7:52
4 Emmaus (Robert C. Schramm)   2:12
5 He Lives! (Paul Kellner)   2:29
6 Golden Daybreak (Paul Kellner)   2:31
7 Lord, With My All I Part (Robert C. Schramm) Robert Goodier, cornet soloist 3:27
8 On the Road (Howard Davies)   8:11
9 Gwenith Gwyn (Robert C. Schramm) Robert C. Schramm, euphonium soloist 3:24
10 Spirit of Praise (George Marshall)   3:20

Sessions for Christmas Recording

On Friday evening, 22 January 2010, members of the National Capital Band (Bandmaster James B. Anderson) gathered in the chapel at Camp Happyland to begin recording a new Christmas album.

Under the expert supervision of Grammy-nominated engineer Phil Bulla, the band recorded twelve items, finishing on Saturday afternoon. Highlights of the recording include a new piece from the pen of principal euphonium Steve Kellner, Fanfare on “O Come, All Ye Faithful” and Robert Redhead’s classic suite The Joy of Christmas.

The full list of items recorded:

  1. Christmas Idyll (Kenneth Downie)
  2. Ding Dong Merrily on High (Douglas Court)
    Euphonium solo, Steve Kellner, soloist
  3. Fanfare Jubiloso (James Curnow)
  4. Fanfare on “O Come, All Ye Faithful” (Steve Kellner)
  5. Feliz Navidad (Dorothy Gates)
  6. I Wonder As I Wander (Ray Bowes)
  7. The Joy of Christmas (Robert Redhead)
  8. Nowell (Andrew Mackereth)
  9. Season’s Greetings (James Anderson)
  10. Shepherds Surprise (Kenneth Downie)
  11. The Shining Star (Peter Graham)
  12. Stille, Stille, Stille (James Curnow)

Further information on the album, including a release date and information on advance orders, will be announced in the future.

The band would like to thank a number of players who helped out with the recording:

  • Darryl Crossland
  • Steve Sutton
  • Dr. Bethany Mikles
  • Bethany Hawley
  • Dr. Richard Holz
  • Dr.Tom Walker
Recent Entries »